Fun with Wrapped Stitches (and Shells)

I’ve moved from learning new stitches, to developing new stitch patterns on my own (based on the techniques that I’ve recently learned). These are unlikely to be truly new stitch patterns, but it’s a lot of fun!

First there’s the whole wrapped stitch thing… Technically, I did once know how to wrap knit stitches by doing a yarn over (YO) then folding it over one or more nearby stitches. I don’t remember doing this in Tunisian crochet, though, and it creates a very interesting look. 

This is my latest swatch. I created it by wrapping three (3) TSS stitches in a row, in hopes that the pattern would look like small crowns.

Kinda cool!

The stitch pattern e-books also reminded me how to do shells by gathering vertical bars together. This tends to produce a lacy fabric and I usually avoid these, but this one was fun. I’ve used a relatively small hook, so the fabric is less lacy. Then I extended the blue stitches with a chain on top to keep the fabric from curling.

I created the color variations in both of these swatches by swapping the yarn as I started the return pass.

The swatches/washcloths have been great fun, but at this point I should probably make something more complex… Maybe a hat?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment