Kitty Throws

I’ve been playing around with colorwork in Aran yarn, with big (L and M) hooks.

My 1st and 2nd ones were made by using a modified Simple stitch ( [FrtFrt(VFrt, HFrt)] ). The modified Simple stitch has you slide the hook (from the front) between the vertical bars, then behind the front vertical bar, then pull the yarn through.

I tried to document this with a picture:

Here I’m using light blue yarn for the forward pass and a dark green yarn for the return pass. I’ve loaded the yarn on the hook and will pull it through the 1st two loops to complete the stitch.

I pull the green return chain after the forward pass and keep the colors separate by switching directions whenever I get to the end of a row. This also helps me to keep the work nice and square.

The color contrast comes from also using the Reverse Modified Simple stitch ( [Bckbck(VBck,HBck] ), which looks the same as the 1st one, but from the back. This has you slide the hook (from the back) between the vertical bars, then in front of the back vertical bar. This is easier if you flip the top edge forward.

The 1st kitty throw was not a brilliant success, but the cats like it.

I’m not crazy about the way the slanted edges turned out, so I did the 2nd one without slanted edges:

This one’s pretty nice.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Kitty Throws

  1. Padma Ramesh

    Both gorgeous!

Leave a comment