More Fun with TC Stitches

I’ve been forging ahead and having a good old time. 

I’ve gotten another e-book of stitch patterns: Petra Tornack-Zimmerman’s Tunisian Crochet: Colored and Striped Stitches, Vol. 2. This is another super fun e-book, plus it has been helpful to compare their ways of describing similar (and sometimes identical) material.

I’ll get back to the differences between that and Anna Nikipirowicz’s TC Stitch Dictionary later, but first I wanted to show a cool stitch pattern that appeared in both. This is the Weave Stitch #87 in the Stitch Dictionary and the African Pattern (#36) in Zimmerman’s Tunisian Crochet.

Pretty nice!

Back to the two (2) e-books: I’ve have been pretty surprised how much their terminology differs. Please be clear: I’m not saying either one is right or wrong, just that the differences are profound. 

I’ve enjoyed a number of books about knit stitch patterns and was expecting the TC equivalents to be similar. …Not so much. I’m now realizing that the TC books need to contain clear descriptions of their terms and techniques, since I was clearly wrong about there being wide agreement on the basics.

Still… this is proving a very valuable and enjoyable experience. I did not realize how much difference a person’s crocheting technique (like their tension and how long they pull their loops) changes the fabric they make. 

I now see that using larger TC hooks makes the work less sensitive to one’s crocheting techniques and that this is why beginners need to use such large hooks. Probably everyone else already knew this.

And my TCing is getting much better!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment