The Mark 2 is Better

Yes, I like this one…
Mark2

2ndMark2

The tricks:
1. I used a contrasting yarn for the return chain in the “in the round” Tunisian crochet.

2. I made the handles much shorter because they stretched a lot–more than I would have thought possible.

3. I also gave the handles a deliberate lean by skipping the first stitch of the forward pass then adding an extra stitch at the end of the forward pass. Otherwise the stitch I used (the chain-top simple stitch, which is often called the extended simple stitch) crochets up fairly square.

4. I’ve made the handles wider where they connect to the bag. This gives the bag a better shape.

5. The lacy part of the “in the round” knitting is: “purl 2 together” alternated with “yarn overs” for a full row, then two (2) rows of straight knit stitch (stockinette), and repeat.

If you have other questions, please ask.

Meanwhile I’m enjoying using this one 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Crochet Project, Knitting, Success

4 responses to “The Mark 2 is Better

  1. Hi, I found your site looking for a tunisian crochet sock pattern. Did you ever get your pattern on Ravelry? What is your Rav name?

  2. I found you and the sock pattern!!!! Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

