Curvature and Tunisian Crochet

CatBed
I became interested in the math of curved Tunisian crochet objects while making the above cat bed. (It has a flat hollow in the center, so my elderly, always-cold cat can nestle into the center of it.)

Said cat enjoying the cat bed (and warmth from the light):
SmCat3

I created the curvature by crocheting seven (7) spiraling sections with increases between them
and by varying the height-to-width ratio of the stitch combo.

I used a shorter stitch combo for the central flat section
and a taller stitch combo for the part that curved to form a hollow.
(Actually, if I had put more stuffing inside, this section would have curved to form a bump.)

I also used rows of stitches with no increases to create flat sides
and 7 sections with decreases instead of increases to form a flat bottom.

The Math Part
This shows an idealized flat round that has been crocheted using six (6) sections with increases at their boundaries:
PiPic-copy

I expected that it would be easy to figure out how many sections I needed to get a flat round using simple assumptions. Hah!

I expected that Pi = 3.1416 increases per round would create a flat object for stitches that are roughly as wide as they are high (like the Simple Stitch), because the circumference-to-diameter ratio is what defines Pi.

And that I would need C increases per round to make the work flat for an arbitrary stitch combo,
where C = Pi(h/w) and h/w is the height-to-width ratio of the stitch combo.

Unfortunately, when I compared this theory with my experience and measurements taken from pictures of the cat bed…

So, it looks like you need something like C = 4.5(h/w) sections
to make the object flat,
and more sections will create a frilly object
and fewer sections will mean the object has a cupped shape.

…And I could obsess over why C appears to equal 4.5 rather than 3.1416,
but I choose not to.

Leave a comment

Filed under Combo of Tunisian Stitches, Tunisian Crochet Technique

Leave a Reply

