Started Shoulder Bag

I’m making a shoulder bag for my sister
and should she see this, I wouldn’t recommend viewing the pictures below–this version may yet get burned!

I finished the wrist warmers and have been trying them out. The next version will have thumb gussets and decreases up near the fingers.
mitts
(Warning: knitting little items like this
can quickly become an addiction!)

I also started the shoulder bag with a brightly-colored spiral.
Immediately I ran into challenges, because the Hempathy yarn that I ordered on-line turned out to be a much finer “DK” than I was expecting. …Plus I ordered most of it in dark purple, so it’s tough for the old eyes to see.

Picture showing dark purple and lime green Hempathy:
Spiral

Then I added some bright fuchsia striping to shape the sides. I wanted to get the same stitch as I was using in-the-round (with the return row chain done in brightly-colored yarn).
So I had to use the reverse stitch on every other row, which got quite messy by the time I was doing over a hundred stitches.

So to neaten things up, I figured out how to run those rows left-handed.
In hindsight, the whole thing was a major design mistake (although I’m getting pretty good at the left-handed thing).

More pictures:
start sides

bottom is done

Now that I have that fiasco behind me and am back to working in-the-round, I’ve been trying to come up with a decorative stitch for the sides of the bag.

My stitch gallery isn’t helping much because of the thicker, brighter return pass yarn.
So I’m doing a swatch to try to come up with something:
swatch
If that doesn’t work, I’ll do stripes with the forward pass yarn switched to the thicker stuff.
Or maybe I’ll do both.

Incidentally, this one definitely needs and will have a silky lining (unless I burn it first).

Dang, I hope this thing works out.

2 Comments

Filed under Crochet Project, Knitting

2 responses to “Started Shoulder Bag

  1. Dar

    The bag is going to be lovely! You are so talented! I think you need to think about putting your items on Etsy.

  2. Heh!
    This one’s not a candidate.
    It will take months.

    (Sorry for the slow responses.
    My spam filter appears to be catching my notifications.)

Leave a Reply

