New Stitch–Vee Stitch and Variations

Well… it’s new to me anyway
and I can’t find it in my library.

I’m going to call it the Split Stitch for now (later edit: I’ve changed the name to Vee Stitch). You do it by hooking through the front vertical bar, then the back vertical bar of the next stitch.

I’ve shown that here.
The bars that I’m snagging are orange
and the bars that I’m creating are blue-green
and there are extra blue-green wraps on the hook:
Stroke

I find the basic (foundation) stitch even more annoying than the knit stitch, because I use relatively small hooks and it becomes tight and curled. That’s shown on the bottom here, with the Extra 2-YO version above it.
fundamental and 2YO
As usual, I’m switching the yarn color at the beginning of the return pass.

The 1st interesting version is the Extra YO Split Stitch:
YO split

The coolest thing, though is when you alternate the versions.
This is the Split Stitch alternated with the Extra YO Split Stitch:
Split and YO split

And this is the Split Stitch alternated with the Extra 2-YO Split Stitch:
split and 2-YO split

I haven’t tried alternating the Extra YO Split Stitch with the Extra 2-YO Split Stitch, but I expect that one to be very cool, as well.

2 Comments

Filed under Tunisian Crochet Stitch Notation, Tunisian Crochet Stitches

2 responses to “New Stitch–Vee Stitch and Variations

  1. The stitch looks great and your yarn and colors really allow for great stitch definition.

Leave a Reply

