1st Tuni/Knit Project

As usual, I’m starting with a headband:

This is turning out better than my pure knit samples, because it’s easy to rip back to the tunisian crochet when I mess up the knitting. (Ripping pure knitting usually sends me back to Step 0.)

Going tunisian –> knitting is easy, I just take the loops off of the hook and slide them onto the appropriate knitting needle. Going knitting –> tunisian is a little tricker, but not much. I slide the knitting to the other circular needle, then pick the loops off of the needle one by one.

Piece of cake!
The only tough part was learning to knit.

2 Comments

Filed under Crochet Project, Knitting

2 responses to “1st Tuni/Knit Project

  1. What kind of project would you make that you would switch it from Tunisian to knitting? I’m anxious to see how it works out and if the gauge stays the same.

  2. The gage is behaving pretty well in this one (if you look closely, you can see the stripes of tunisian in the stockinette and there’s a bigger picture over in my Project Folder on Ravelry). I used a J/10/6.50 mm hook and a 10/6.50 mm pair of circular needles.

    I’m still trying to get the tension constant, so I may be adjusting the knit gage to that of the tunisian, without realizing it. (Later edit: looking at it, the knit part is a bit “poofier” so I guess the gage might be slightly larger–but if you count the “stretch potential”, the knit gets much larger.)

    The biggest challenge has been switching from the very slick “Turbo” needles to the bamboo hook (which is pretty sticky in our current heat & humidity). The 1st row of tunisian can become a little tricky, because of the extra stretchiness of the knit, if I’ve been working too tightly on those Turbo needles.

    The combo fabric is turning out nicely, however. I think it could have a lot of uses.
    The drape of the knit part is lovely, while the crocheted stripes give the fabric a bit firmer shape. And the curls differ, so the combo is less curled.

    I was originally thinking of knitting the big parts (because it’s faster) and using tunisian on the smaller ones, but I’m beginning to get enthusiastic about using a hybrid fabric instead.

Leave a Reply

