Partial Success

Yea! I finished the top

And it proved to be another learning experience
1. The front of a top for a curvy woman needs to be different from the back
2. It helps a lot to finish the edges with traditional crochet, even if you’re using good technique
3. Good technique is tricky when you’re doing an increase or a decrease at an edge or you else get steps that curl
4. The bottom edges of a curvy woman’s top should gently curved if you want it to fall straight
5. The foundation row technique I used isn’t laying flat enough for me at the bottom edge–this needs work before I start another big project

Pictures of the front:
Top
With jacket

You won’t be seeing any more pictures of the back (see above) and when in public, I’ll be wearing it as in the 2nd picture. 😉

Technically, I could easily detach the back and redo it, but I’m getting tired of the project. Besides, the top works fine as a flash of color under a jacket or overshirt, which is what I wanted most.

(Later edit: I’ve reconsidered and I think I can fix it,
so I’m NOT done)

5 Comments

Filed under Crochet Project

5 responses to “Partial Success

  1. Dar

    Good for you! It is really pretty. Like the jacket with it.

  2. I like the colours but I don’t think it’s something I would make. I don’t think my wife would wear it and I definitely wouldn’t. 🙂

    • Heh, heh…
      Yeah, definitely not a guy thing

      My original plan was for something that I could wear with black to classical music concerts (where folks mostly wear black). Still hoping for this, but nothing turns out the way I’ve planned.

      • As a long time seamstress I can address a couple of your concerns. To get a curve in the bottom front of your top, you need to mimic short rows in knitting. I’m thinking that you could add a few of the SC loop sts (taller than reg TSS) in the middle and that would make the front longer over belly and boobs.

        Bottom edge not flat – A few rows of the SC loop or of TPS will help tame the curl. If you are not using a woolish yarn that will block well, you can try sewing a wide grosgrain ribbon to the hem to keep it flatter. There is something called Reverse Stitch (that I have not seen yet) that is also supposed to make hems lay flat.

        Increases and decreases are best done at least 2 sts from the edge, 3 is better.

        Hope that helps. I’ve been sewing my own clothes for decades, altering patterns to fit and carried the same techniques over to my knitting and crocheting. Dunno why Tunisian Crochet should be any different.

  3. Hiya, Sande!
    I did a lot of that for the next entry
    I once knew how to do all that stuff, but it’s been decades…

Leave a Reply

