I’m a mod!

I volunteered to be a moderator over at the Ravelry Tunisian Crochet Beginners Group.
This has been fun so far šŸ™‚

I’ve been trying to run TALs (tunisian crochet alongs) over there which is pretty funny for a woman who can never follow directions without personalizing them.

This is the first one:
Short Row TAL
It’s a short-row dishcloth that’s been beautifully set up for beginners at: http://www.hookedonneedles.com/2009/02/tunisian-short-row-dishcloth-video.html
Mine is about half done, there are 6 short-row wedges in a hexagon in the finished project.

I’ve also been checking out the excellent Ravelry Tunisian Crochet Group, where the experts hang out. Someone there pointed out the Gobelin stitch, which greatly resembles the Gobelin weave, so of course I’m interested.

There’s an excellent demo for it at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w9w9EWT_8s0 but as I found out, you need to watch it all the way through. This is one of those stitches that will lean a lot unless you alternate what you do at the ends. So it’s easy to do the stitch itself, but skill is required to make the ends look decent.

…So I wasted a lot of time trying to figure out the ends before I got around to watching the entire video.

This Gobelin Stitch reminds me of a stitch I call the Twill Stitch, which I described much earlier in the blog. But unfortunately, it didn’t remind me that you needed to accomplish similar funny business at the ends to keep it from leaning, so I wasted even more time on that before I looked up the instructions in 101 Easy Tunisian Stitches (it’s Number 84).

So I finally finished a two-color sampler that compares the two stitches.
Sampler
The Gobelin Stitch is on the bottom and the Twill Stitch is on the top.
Both of these stitches are lovely for my purposes. But they also both use a lot of yarn and are a little tricky to keep even, particularly if you’re using a soft yarn.

The way I kept the loops even on the forward pass is to use a relatively small hook (an H hook with Lily Sugar n’ Cream cotton yarn) and to pull up (& side to side a little) on the hook between stitches, while holding it parallel. My problem with using a larger hook was that as I tilt it to get to the next stitch, it tends to expand some of the loops to get there.

Here’s a picture of the hook, while in the parallel position:
Hook

Anyway, I’m still in the middle of several projects, so I won’t be using those stitches soon.

I’m also still mulling over changes to my notation, so there’ll be a delay before I add the Gobelin Stitch to my Stitch Gallery, since that will be getting a massive reorganization at the same time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Tunisian Crochet Stitches, Tunisian Crochet Technique

Leave a Reply

