Camo yarn headband

Yup, camo yarn–I suppose it’s a reaction to the pink

I used a new stitch for this, which I’m calling Square Lace. Usually I avoid the lacy look, but this looks more like a complicated loose weave.
Start of camo HB

This one is like the purl stitch–you hold the yarn in front of the work to create bars at the bottom of the loops that you pull up (during the forward pass). In my notation, this one is: F/(-c)y(2a)y.

I’ve added it to the Stitch Gallery, next to the very similar lambda stitch.

This headband looks very silly on,
so Mr. Lou graciously agreed to model it for me:
Lou in HB
HB detail
As you can see in the second picture, the back pattern on this stitch is fairly neat (and I’ve added a conventional crochet brim).

One irritating discovery about this stitch–it expands if you pull on it and stays expanded. Those with more experience probably could have predicted this. Fortunately, the husband helped me see this before I settled on the finished length of the headband (or it would have stretched out and fallen off).

Ah well, it works and will keep me cooler while gardening in our hot summers. Plus it’ll entertain any neighbors who catch me in it. 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Crochet Project, Tunisian Crochet Stitches

2 responses to “Camo yarn headband

  1. That is typical of all Tunisian Crochet- stretching out once, and not springing back to the original shape… if you pull it side to side. Once those cross bars (chain stitches formed on the Return) are cinched down, by stretching, they do not bounce back.
    This isn’t the case for stretching the piece top to bottom, but the stretch will be limited to the type of yarn, and the tension of the stitching: the tighter the stitch, the less it will stretch.
    ARNie- author of Encyclopedia of Tunisian Crochet

    • Yes, that’s exactly what I experienced! It looked like holding the yarn in front of the fabric (like in the purl stitch) made this problem more severe.

      It’s probably possible to minimize this “stretching” by pulling those front loops tighter as I do the forward pass. …And I’ll probably try this in the future

Leave a Reply

