Teardrop Sampler Headband

I’ve been exploring ways of using the teardrop stitch and keeping it from tilting wildly. Along the way, I worked out a similar stitch that’s also nice.

I made a hair band, since a girl with my wild hair can never have too many of those. This is made up of sample blocks where I tried various ways of controlling the tilt of the teardrop stitch, separated by bands of purl stitch.

First, I did columns of teardrop stitch, surrounded by my favorite “bird tail” stitch (B/acy, which I’ve been calling the flat simple stitch… but it reminds me of when little birds perk up their tails, so I’ll be changing the name).

This helped some, as you can see from the sample on the left:
Teardrop headband
I found that surrounding the teardrop stitch with a column of X stitches also helped, as I did for the sample on the right

I expanded out to a larger block of teardrop stitch surrounded by X stitch columns. See the sample at the right, below.
Teardrop stitch sample
This tilted more, but it’s okay for a piece like this.

I also tried to get rid of the tilt by switching whether I pulled the extra loop before or after I pulled a loop through the 2 vertical bars.  In my notation, that would be alternating between rows of  B/by(2a)y and B/(2a)yby but the 2nd way is trickier to do, so things got messy.  You can see that with the sample to the left, below.
Headband, again
I figured that I’d done as much as I could with the teardrop stitch, so I modified it in hopes that the new stitch would tilt less. It’s in the sample on the right, above and it’s B/cy(-m)(2a)y in my notation.

That means that you pull a loop through 2 vertical bars after you pull a loop through the “c” thread between them. (It needs to be after because before would be impossible). This next diagram should help you find the “c” thread …and the vertical bars (“a” threads), as well
Thread guide pic

This produces another great stitch, similar to the teardrop stitch, but tighter & neater. 🙂 Sooooo, I’ll be making a 2-color sample of the new stitch and naming it, once I see what it looks like.

3 Comments

Filed under Combo of Tunisian Stitches, Tunisian Crochet Stitches, Tunisian Crochet Technique

3 responses to “Teardrop Sampler Headband

  1. My goodness, you’ve been a busy bee!
    First off, what you are doing is a variation of Arrowhead Netting stitch. In my historical texts, they called it a ‘netting’ stitch, but in the decades after that publication, there’ve been many ‘netting’ stitches. I added the Arrowhead to help define the stitch’s general appearance.
    Without spending hours digging through all my historical texts, I’m pretty sure you are working the same ‘general’ mechanics the Victorians used, by adding the extra stitch into the Cross Bars. However, you are working a Purl Cross Bar stitch instead of into the top horizontal thread, like the Victorians did. That is, you are working into the Back Hump of the chain stitch, as opposed to the Top horizontal thread, and trust me on this, it isn’t worth the effort to try to work into the bottom horizontal thread of the Cross bar.
    And you discovered the same problem that they did: the work begins to slant off to one side, when you work into the cross bars. The Physics of this will force it to draw off to one side, because you are tightening the cross bars when you work into them. The Crossbars are what give Tunisian Crochet its stability, and when you alter the Cross bar, you alter the structural integrity of the overall piece.
    You are working consistently into the same ‘side’ of the Tss2tog- which in essence, you are working an Increase on one end of the row, while working a Decrease on the other end. This is one case in which mathematics simply isn’t enough; maintaining a constant stitch count does not guarantee a straight piece, when the stitches do not sit directly on top of one another. To work this stitch, and maintain a straight piece, you must alternate the process: Tss2tog, Cross bar stitch, then on the next row, Cross Bar stitch, Tss2tog. However, as you discovered, this is problematic and still doesn’t conquer the problem of the slant as it should, from a Mathematical and Theoretical sense. This is where the physics takes over: altering the element that gives the stitching is structural integrity, is very difficult to over come.
    The easiest thing to do, to work the Arrowheads, and still maintain a straight piece, is to add an Eyelet between the Tss2tog’s. Mathematically and theoretically, this should not make any difference, but the flexibility of the Eyelet, and leaving those cross bars alone,… the physics takes over and allows this to work. Whether you choose to work a Yarn Over on the Forward, or add an extra chain stitch in the Return, the eyelet makes this stitch work.
    ARNie Author of Encyclopedia of Tunisian Crochet

Leave a Reply

